Home » WCHS Wildcat Football Begins Friday

WCHS Wildcat Football Begins Friday

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

   At a time of uncertainty, school has begun in Wayne County – on a modified schedule, and face masks are the normal. The Wayne County High School Wildcats look to begin their 2020 football season this Friday night at Guy H. Buchanan Stadium as they host the Loretto Mustangs. The ‘Cats failed to make the TSSAA Class 1A Playoffs last season for the first time in 19 years and will look to better their 2 – 8 2019 record.

   The Wildcats will be led by Head Coach Cary Crews, in his second year at the helm of the team. He will be assisted by John Blackwell, Ryan Keaton, and Lance Nutt. The ‘Cats return key players from a year ago, but will work to replace the eleven seniors squad members lost to graduation. This year’s version of the Wildcats will boast 15 seniors. Heading up the offensive this year will be Cade Crews, at the quarterback position, and Hunter Staggs, as a running back. Staggs and Crews will also see action on defense at linebacker. Cameron Manley, Ethan Haddock, Gaynes Keaton, Clay Baugus, David Walker, Ethan Tilley, Spencer Turnbow, and Jonmikel Lynn will serve as receivers for Crews and play defensive backfield when the Wildcat “D” is on the field. Blayne Love will line up at tight end on offense and linebacker on defense. Wesley Nutt will anchor both the offensive and defensive lines, with Joel Martin, Damien Dickey, and Chase Cummings seeing action on both sides of the ball also.

   Junior Wildcat squad members include Brian Austin Carlton – WR/LB, Dawson Willis – TE/LB, Julian Burchett – RB/LB, Brock Brown – RB/LB, Timmy Robbins – RB/LB, Braxton Littleton – OL/DL, Jeremiah Robbins – OL/DL, Levi Vrska – OL/DL, Chance Kelley – OL/DL, and Luke Sesler – OL/DL.

   The sophomore class is represented by Austin Whitson – QB/DB, Jesse Dixon – WR/DB, Eli McClain – RB/DB, Dylan Kimbrell – RB/LB, Hector Merino – TE/LB, Joseph Robbins – RB/LB, Colton Beason – OL/DL, Ethan Holt – OL/DL, Noah Maples – OL/DL, Seth Kiddy – OL/DL, and Nolan Moore – OL/DL.

   Newcomers to the Wildcats are freshmen Logan Brewer, Isaiah Gresham, Carden Venable, Ryder Butler, David Grant Dixon, Jakob Nienast, Aaron Martin, Talon Keaton, Issac Nienast, Jaytham Staggs, Jaxon Pope, and Lucas Horton.

   This year’s cheer squad is again coached by Tara Hollis and Anna Beth Haggard. Their roster consists of seniors Brooke Byrd and Camryn Holder. Juniors are Alex Hollis, Madison Gobbell, and McKaya Bright. Carlie Staggs, Karson Crews, Isabelle Davis, and Olivia Gobbell are the sophomore squad members, and Audrey Franks, Nevaeh Bayless, and Reyna Prince represent the freshman class. Junior Ronnie Goldsby is “Wiley the Wildcat.”

   Come out and support the Wildcats in their season opener Friday night. Game time is 7:00 p.m.  “Good Luck Wildcats!”—-Submitted

Related Posts

Located in Waynesboro, Tennessee, The Wayne County News serves residents through breaking news and other local content. Read up on what is happening in Wayne County!
Contact us: [email protected]

© Copyright 2024