Home » Early Voting Numbers Break Records Across the State

Early Voting Numbers Break Records Across the State

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

   Through last Wednesday, October 14th, a record-breaking 273,325 people in Tennessee cast their ballot by voting early or absentee by-mail. This is a 91% increase from the first day of early voting in 2016 and a 120% increase over 2012.

   “I’m excited that Tennesseans are engaged and are making their voices heard at the polls,” said Secretary of State Tre Hargett. “We are on pace to break our previous early voting turnout record, which was set in 2016.”

   Wayne County Commissioner of Elections Lillie Ruth Brewer said that as of Monday, October 19th, 1,838 voters in Wayne County had cast their ballots. That is a 31% increase in early voting from the same day in the early voting cycle of the 2016 Presidential Election.

  Overall, the U.S. has already surpassed 12% of its total vote from the 2016 presidential election. Experts say that this could be the first election in U.S. history where a majority of voters cast their ballots before election day.

   Early voting for the State and Federal General Election will continue on Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m., and on Saturday from 8:00 a.m. until 12:00 noon at the Wayne County Election Commission Office through Thursday, October 29th.

   For those who choose not to participate in early or absentee voting, the election will be held on Tuesday, November 3rd, 2020. If you choose to vote on that day, you will vote at your assigned polling place.

   Anyone with questions regarding early voting or absentee voting may call the Wayne County Election Commission Office at 931-722-3517. The Election Commission Office is located in the basement level of the Wayne County Courthouse.

Related Posts

Located in Waynesboro, Tennessee, The Wayne County News serves residents through breaking news and other local content. Read up on what is happening in Wayne County!
Contact us: [email protected]

© Copyright 2024