Wayne County Courthouse on List of Proposed Historic Places


   The Tennessee State Review Board will meet to examine proposed nominations to the National Register of Historic Places on Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. The meeting will be held via WebEx. Information on attending the meeting remotely can be obtained by visiting the Tennessee Historical Commission’s National Register webpage the morning of the May 20th meeting.

   The Board will vote on 8 nominations from across the state:

•Wayne County Courthouse – Wayne County

•Dixie Mercerizing Company – Hamilton County

•Downtown Chattanooga Historic District – Hamilton County

•Arch Bridge – Hardin County

•Sulphur Fork Bridge – Montgomery County

•Anshei Sphard-Beth El Emeth Synagogue – Shelby County

•Ward School – Trousdale County

•Higgenbotham Turnpike (Trail of Tears segment) – Warren and White Counties

   Those nominations that are found to meet the criteria will be sent for final approval to the National Register of Historic Places in the Department of the Interior. The Tennessee State Review Board is composed of 13 members with backgrounds in American history, architecture, archaeology, or related fields. It also includes members representing the public. The National Register program was authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966. The public is invited to attend the WebEx meeting.

   The National Register of Historic Places is the nation’s official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. It is part of a nationwide program that coordinates and supports efforts to identify, evaluate and protect historic resources. The Tennessee Historical Commission (THC), the state agency that is designated as the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO), administers the program in Tennessee. 

   For more information or copies of the nominations contact Rebecca Schmitt at Rebecca.schmitt@tn.gov. Visit http://tnhistoricalcommission.org to find out more about our programs.