Thursday is Election Day in Wayne County


       Thursday, August 6th is the date for the Wayne County General Election, the Waynesboro Local Election, and the State and Federal Primary Elections. Early voting was conducted from July 17th through August 1st, and Wayne County Election Commissioner Lillie Ruth Brewer reported that 1,454 voters participated. Those who did not participate in early voting will vote tomorrow at their assigned precinct.

       First on the ballot are the candidates for United States Senate. This is the seat that will soon be vacated by the retiring Senator Lamar Alexander. There are 15 Republican candidates on the ballot, and five Democrats. With this being a Primary Election, one Republican and one Democrat will be voted to represent their party in the November 3rd State General Election.

       U.S. Representative Mark Green is the only Republican on the ticket for the seat he currently holds in District 7. One Democrat, Kiran Sreepada, is on the ballot for the Democratic party. These two candidates will face off against each other on November 3rd.

       State Senator Joey Hensley is running unopposed to retain his District 28 seat. No Democrats and no other Republicans qualified to be on the ballot; therefore, although Senator Hensley will appear on the ballot again in November, he is guaranteed to retain his seat.

       There are three candidates on the ballot for Tennessee House of Representatives District 71: (Incumbent) State Representative David Byrd, Austin Carroll, and Garry Welch. All three are Republicans; no Democrats qualified in this race. The candidate who garners the most votes in this Primary race will be on the ballot in November, but will be unopposed and automatically elected.

       In the County General Election, Dustin White is running unopposed to retain his seat as Wayne County Property Assessor. All seats on the ballot for the County General Election will be decided tomorrow, and since this portion is not a Primary Election, will not be on the ballot in November.

       Five seats on the Wayne County School Board are on tomorrow’s ballot, with only one, District 6, having two candidates vying for the position.

       Other seats on the ballot for the General Election are Circuit Judge Part 3, Public Defender, and Democrat State Committee Member.

       Two seats on the Waynesboro City Commission are on the ballot for those voting in the Waynesboro Local Election. Incumbent Waynesboro City Commissioner is running to retain his seat, along with three political newcomers, Phillip Carroll, Tracy Martin, and Lynn Warren.

       The polls will open tomorrow morning at 8:00 a.m. and will close at 7:00 p.m. Remember to exercise your right to vote and be heard!