Early Voting Ends August 1st


       Early voting for the upcoming Federal and State Primary, County General, and Waynesboro City Elections began on Friday, July 17th, 2020 and will continue through Saturday, August 1st at the Election Commission Office in the Wayne County Courthouse. The hours for early voting are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m., and on Saturdays from 8:00 a.m. until 12:00 noon. The Election Commission Office is in the basement level of the courthouse, at 100 Court Circle. Please note that the last day for early voting is Saturday, August 1st.

       Wayne County Election Commissioner Lillie Ruth Brewer reports that 829 voters have participated in early voting as of press time on Tuesday. 716 of those voted on the Republican ballot, while 98 voted on the Democratic ticket. Fifteen have voted in the County General race. 

       The seats on the ballot for the August 6th election are:

    Local: Waynesboro City Commission (2 seats)

    County General: Property Assessor; School Board Member District 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7; Circuit Judge Part 3 (Unexpired Term); Public Defender (Unexpired Term); Democrat State Executive Committee Member (Unexpired Term)

    State Primary: State Senator District 28; State Representative District 71; U.S. Congressman 7th District; U.S. Senator

       Anyone voting in person during early voting or on Election Day must present a photo ID issued by the federal or Tennessee state government. To learn more about the photo ID requirements, visit the website http://sos.tn.gov/products/elections/what-id-required-when-voting.

       For those who choose NOT to participate in early voting, the election will be held on Thursday, August 6th. If you choose to vote on that day, you will vote at your assigned polling place.